Italia Part 2 – Travel Journal

I always get itchy feet…I’m always thinking about where my next trip will take me and often wish I had more lives (and more money!) to travel to all these places on my bucket list. But I felt good the other day….I created a new board on my Pinterest of all the places I’d been to and seeing this collection opened my eyes and made me sooooo grateful. I am one lucky girl! I loved every one of these places and I hope to be able to share some of these experiences with you in the future. So today I’m continuing with my travel journal. And this time it’s Cinque Terre (our second stop of our 2013 trip).

I’d been to Italy before a couple of times and travelled pretty much the main touristy places but I’d never been to Cinque Terre. In fact, I’d never heard of it until I learnt about it in some blogs I follow and fell in love with the bloggers’ pictures. I had to go!!

So here we are….

We stayed in a small hotel in Riomaggiore on the main street Via Colombo, which was lovely and although the Via dell’Amore (“The Way of Love”), the coastal path that links all 5 villages, was closed and we couldn’t walk it due to landslide, we had a wonderful time.

We easily explored the 5 villages hopping on and off trains (very cheap) and hiking up and down 🙂

Although the most common opinion is that Vernazza is the most beautiful of these villages, my favourite was Riomaggiore. It was much less busy with tourists and it felt so relaxing walking up and down the paths. I loved it.

riomaggiore3

riomaggiore2 riomaggiore4

rio1 rio3 rio4 rio5

riomaggiore8 IMG_6467-1 riomaggiore-panorama

IMG_6478-1 IMG_6488-1

On our second day there, we visited the furthest village in the north, Monterosso al Mare and then Vernazza. We spent another beautiful day. We visited the rather modern beach and then walked up to the other side of the mountain where the old town is found. A nice, slightly challenging walk but lovely nonetheless.

IMG_6573-6 IMG_6586-4 IMG_6602-1 IMG_6605-1 IMG_6609-1 IMG_6611-1 IMG_6616-1 mont2 mont3 monterosso

In the afternoon, we continued onto Vernazza (which was beautiful indeed!!) We watched the waves on a busy little beach and ate some ice-cream as well as explored the more quiet streets.

IMG_6674-1 vern vernazza vernazza2 vernazza4 vernazza5 vernazza6

On our final day in the Cinque Terre, we visited the remaining two villages, but this time in the rain. Corniglia was a very quiet village. You had to walk (up!) for a quarter of an hour to get to the village from the train station and there weren’t many tourists. It was mainly the locals having a chat in very narrow streets. There were some gorgeous views of the countryside though. We started hiking up to the next village along (Manarola) but after 40 minutes came back on our steps as we weren’t sure how long it was going to take and it was chucking it down! Instead we had to wait 1 hour for a delayed train in the freezing cold! We had lunch in Manarola and then headed back to Riomaggiore for some packing and some chilling out before our next destinations: Lucca and Florence.

cinqueterre cinqueterre2 cinqueterre3 cinqueterre4 cinqueterre6 cinqueterre8 IMG_6719 IMG_6720 italy

The food was amazing there – so much fish and seafood! I had swordfish, sea bass with a tomato and caper sauce (yum!), langoustines in a tomato sauce and a lot of white wine 🙂

Bella Italia

Love,

Sabrina xxx

Leave a Reply

