Italia Part 1 – Travel Journal

Travelling is my passion. Alan Watts once said ‘What would you like to do if money were no object?’. Well, my answer is rather simple: travel this amazing world, meet amazing people, try wonderful foods! I guess one of my dreams would have been to be an explorer (although I’m so far from being an adventurer, lol. I get scared so easily!) and I hope that one day my son grows up to marvel at the wonders of this planet too.

I’ve been to quite a few countries over the years and have plans to travel some more but today I thought I’d share some photos from our last getaway last year. My husband and I had a little break and went over to Italy. I’d been there a couple of times before: once on a school trip (travelling from Western France on a coach down to Naples), another time visiting friends in Sienna and Rome and another time spending New Year’s eve in Venice. I love this country so much I keep going back. One of my secret dreams is to live there for a bit but shhh, don’t tell my husband as he would freak out! He loves Italy but is not a keen linguist.

We first flew to Pisa where we stayed a couple of days, then travelled to Cinque Terre, Lucca, Florence and finished our stay in Rome where my brother-in-law caught up with us.

When we arrived in Pisa, we were surprised at how deserted it was. We’d booked a hotel between the train station and the Piazza dei Miracoli, so fairly central. After dropping our luggage at the hotel, we got our maps out and went exploring. Even the Piazza dei Miracoli was rather quiet. It was getting close to dinner time and there were no restaurants open (not sure why?). We had a lovely time though. We spent an hour walking around the square enjoying the tranquility and reading books on the Piazza. And we did find a restaurant in one of the quiet streets.

Here are a few photos:

pisa1 pisa2 pisa3 pisa4 pisa5 pisa6 pisa7 pisa8

The weather wasn’t great but we managed to escape the rain and the sky works amazingly well in black and white. And we got to see the beautiful Leaning Tower!

The next day, we hopped on a train (trenitalia is so cheap and amazing!! I’d definitely recommend travelling by train) and headed to Riomaggiore but I’ll talk about Cinque Terre another time…

What would you guys fancy doing if money were no object?

Love,

Sabrina xxx

Leave a Reply

